Directorate at a Glance

The Directorate of Extension of the University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore has a statutory role to play with regard to extension. Extension service is a vehicle, which carries scientific agricultural technology interventions developed at the Research Stations to the farm, for the overall benefit of the farming community. This noble activity facilitates in bridging the identified technological gaps existing with the farmers. The ultimate goal of this important function of the University is to enhance the sustainable net income of the farmer, by taking all the enterprises on the farm into consideration, integrating them and treating the whole farm as one unit.

This major function of extension is accomplished through dissemination of farm information, training of farmers and extension functionaries, educating the farmers through field activities such as demonstrations, field visits, field days, farm advisory service etc. To carry out these activities, eleven Krishi Vignan Kendras, four Extension Education Units and three Extension Units working under the jurisdiction of the University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore.

The farming community can avail the services of the units of the Directorate of Extension to get the solutions to their farming problems and to increase their economic status.

Functional Units at Head quarters of the Directorate of Extension
  • Farm Information Unit
  • Agriculture Technology Information Centre (ATIC)
  • Staff Training Unit
  • State Agriculture Management & Extension Training Institute (SAMETI)-South
  • Farmers Training Institute
  • Bakery Training Unit
  • Communication Centre
  • Department of Kannada Studies
  • Agri. Clinic & Agri. Business Centre (AC & ABC)
  • National Agriculture Extension Programme
  • Distance Education Unit
  • Consultancy Cell
Staff of Directorate of Extension
Dr. G. S. Nagaraja
Dr. G. S. Nagaraja

Additional information